Benny and Flo do Brunch

Benny and Flo on a plate
. . . how this vegan does brunch.

Eggs Benedict and Eggs Florentine are two simple, classic brunch dishes.  They are very similar:  English muffins topped with ham for Benedict and sauteed spinach for Florentine, with poached eggs and then smothered in Hollandaise sauce.  These are egg/dairy/meat filled cholesterol bombs . . . that I miss very much.

rain rain go awayIt’s a rainy day here in Northern Minnesota, so I figured that it was the perfect day to make a hybrid, vegan version of Benedict and Florence.  This took some planning.  While the English muffin, spinach, and even ham portions were easy to sub out for, the egg and the Hollandaise were going to be issues.

Tofu usually makes a decent egg sub, like in tofu scramble.  That wouldn’t pose too much of a problem.  Though, poached tofu sounds disgusting, so I decided to bake it and give it a much more toothsome texture and brown, crispy corners.

As for the Hollandaise . . . hoo boy.  Classic Hollandaise sauce recipes consist of two main things: butter and eggs.  Gross.  Even vegan substitutions for those couldn’t make the creamy, rich texture of Hollandaise sauce.  I needed a new plan.  I looked up other recipes for vegan Hollandaise sauce, but none of them really tickled my fancy.  They all involved either vegan sour cream or silken tofu, neither of which I had in my fridge, nor did I really feel like walking (in the rain) down to the co op to get.

So I did what any good vegan cook would do.  I made up my own.  It’s more like a modified bechamel sauce than traditional Hollandaise (which is basically hot mayonnaise . . . ew) and it more than does the job.

The recipe that follows is quite involved and took about an hour and a half to make.  There’s a lot of downtime in there, though.  Mostly when pressing and marinating the tofu.  Also, all the quantities given, except for the sauce are for one serving.  Feel free to double/triple/quadruple this recipe to suit your needs.  The sauce recipe will make about 4 servings.  So, one recipe of the sauce, a whole block of tofu, a 5 oz bag of spinach, and 4 English muffins should be just about perfect to feed yourself and three friends who trust your cooking.

Shall we then . . .

Benny and Flo do Brunch:

Ingredients:

The Tofu Portion:

I'm not actually left handed.

  • 1/4 pound of tofu (approximately), sliced horizontally off the block
  • 3-4 Tablespoons tamari (or soy sauce, shoyu, braggs, whathaveyou)
  • 1-2 Tablespoons rice vinegar
  • pepper
  • olive oil

Vegan Hollandaise Sauce:

  • 3 Tablespoons Earth Balance margarine
  • 2 Tablespoons all purpose flour
  • pinch of turmeric
  • 1 cup unsweetened soy milk
  • big pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 2 Tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 1 Tablespoon vegenaise
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Everything Else:

spinach and muffins

  • One whole wheat English muffin (do make sure it’s vegan), split, toasted, and slathered with some Earth Balance
  • A big handful of spinach
  • 2 Slices smokey vegan meaty substitute (I used smoked tofurky.  Feel free to use fake bacon or veggie ham if you prefer)
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • parsley and fruit for garnish (optional, but pretty)

The Method

The Tofu Portion:

pressing tofuFirst of all, press your tofu.  Wrap it in either a good thick wad of paper towels (I used about 5 layers on each side of the tofu, folded of course), or a clean, cotton, folded kitchen towel.  Set the wrapped tofu on your cutting board and put a heavy plate on top and add more weights on top of that.  I use my stack of cast iron frying pans, but you can use a pot of water or canned goods if you can stack them high enough.  Allow the tofu to press like this for 10 to 15 minutes.

Next is the marinade.  Slice your tofu down the middle (the short way) so you have two rectangles.  Place the slices on a plate (I used the same one with which I pressed the tofu.)  MarinadePour your tamari and rice vinegar on top of your tofu and swish it all around with your hands to mix it up and get all sides of the tofu slices covered.  The strength of the marinade is up to you.  If you like it a little saltier, use the full amount of tamari and less vinegar.  If you like it a little more sour, use less tamari and more vinegar.  I use the full amount of both, but you can be the judge.  Also, you want there to be enough marinade on the plate so the tofu sucks it up really well.

Cover and let the tofu marinate for 15 to 20 minutes.  Meanwhile, preheat your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

Line a small baking sheet with aluminum foil.  Pour a couple teaspoons of olive oil on the foil and spread it around with your fingers (or a pastry brush if you must).  sprinkle ground pepper on both sides of the tofu and put on the baking sheet.  Drizzle with a little more oil.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

While the tofu cooks, you can move on to the sauce . . .

Vegan Hollandaise Sauce:

Heat a small saucepan over medium low heat.  Add the Earth Balance and heat until it is sizzling and boiling quite a bit.  Whisk in the flour all at once to make a paste and continue to whisk it constantly for about a minute.  Add in a SMALL pinch of turmeric for color and mix well (you want your sauce yellow, but you don’t want it too yellow).  Slowly whisk in soy milk.  Bring sauce to a boil, whisking frequently.  Boil for 2 to 3 minutes and remove from heat.  Whisk in the cayenne and nutritional yeast.  Add the lemon juice and mix well.  Taste for seasoning.  I probably ended up adding in about a teaspoon of salt, but I didn’t measure and I really like salt.  I just kept adding it until I thought my sauce was sufficiently salty.  Season to your taste with salt and a bit of black pepper.  Lastly, add the vegenaise for a little bit more creaminess.

The finished Hollandaise
The finished Hollandaise

Keep the sauce warm by covering it with a lid or you can put it over low heat if you watch it carefully and whisk periodically, as to keep it from burning.

Putting it all together . . .

finished tofuBy the time your sauce is done, your tofu ought to be coming out of the oven.  You want it nicely browned with just the edges starting to get crispy.  Mine took about 20 minutes.  You want your tofu to look roughly like mine in the picture there.  Let this cool a bit, but keep it warm while you finish your prep for the last of your ingredients.

Heat 1-2 teaspoons of olive oil in a small skillet (about 8 inches) over medium heat.  Add a big handful of spinach, more or less filling the pan as it cooks down a lot.  pan o spinachCook until the spinach is wilted.

Meanwhile, toast your English muffin.  When toasted, butter it!  To heat up my smoky vegan meaty subsititute, I placed slices of smoked tofurky on my English muffins and put them back in the toaster oven.  If you don’t have a toaster oven (I suggest you get one, first off), you can use your full size oven to get your muffin/meaty combo all toasty.

Now that you’ve got your tofu baked, your sauce thickened, your spinach wilted, and your muffin toasted . . . it’s time to plate . . .

Step one
Step one

Place your muffins on a plate . . .

. . . step two . . .
. . . step two . . .

Divide up your spinach and spread it on top of the faux-meat.

. . . step three . . .
. . . step three . . .

Place a baked tofu slice on top of each muffin half.

. . . step four . . .
. . . step four . . .

Smother the tofu slices in the vegan Hollandaise sauce.

Then garnish with some chopped parsley, cut fruit and a lemon twist and you’ve got yourself a delicious hybrid of eggs Benedict and eggs Florentine made vegan.

. . . and then garnish!
. . . and then garnish!

Admittedly, this is not a low-calorie recipe.  To be honest, I rarely try to make things as such.  Also, it is quite involved.  It’s not the lazy Sunday sort of meal one would hope a brunch dish to be.  Well, unless you’re like me, that is.  I love involved cooking on Sunday mornings.

However, this is definitely an impressive brunch dish.  Especially if you’re making a meal for other vegans.

41 Comments Add yours

  1. JakWay says:

    You know me and my fanaticism with breakfast. Despite mee being an omni and all, I’d’ve loved to have been there for that! Mostly I’m jealous.

  2. Erin says:

    This sauce was delicious! I’ve been looking for a vegan hollandaise sauce for a long time now, and this one is great! Thanks for sharing.

  3. This is AWESOME. Thanks for the recipe inspiration!

    ~S

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Yum. I’m going to try this for dinner tonight

  5. Bob says:

    Thanks for the recipe. Can you tell me what is the weight of a block of tofu?

    1. Kate B says:

      The tofu I use is Westsoy extra firm, it comes in a 14-ounce block. Most of the cookbooks I have refer to tofu coming in a 1-pound weight, but I only every see 14-ounce blocks for some reason. If you do find those magical 1-pound blocks where you are, though, feel free to substitute those for my slightly smaller 14-ounce blocks.

  6. Erinn says:

    Hi There, I just wanted to drop by and say that I like your site. I recently linked you in my food blog (www.gf-blog.com) on this article. Thanks so much for the great info, check out my post on Gluten Free, Dairy Free Eggs Benedict. I love incorporating vegan recipes and variations into my Gluten Free food blog- http://www.gf-blog.com

    Erinn

  7. This is my favourite vegan benny recipe and I make it for special occasions or when I need a little love. Today was one of those days and it hit the spot perfectly. Thanks so much for your great post. Love it!

  8. meyer says:

    The vegan hollandaise is out of control! Thanks for the awesome recipe.

  9. Amanda says:

    Hi Kate, I just made your “Eggs” Florentine for dinner and it’s freakin good!!
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  10. John Waters Jr. says:

    This is a delightful recipe. I’d made it before, long ago, right after I became vegetarian. I’d attended a lot of vegetarian cooking classes so I wouldn’t have to totally lose out on some of my favorite dishes, like eggs benedict and eggs Florentine. I don’t remember what I did before for the sauce, but this is easy to make and very tasty. I saved some of the broth from boiling white asparagus to thin the hollandaise to the consistency I preferred…in a word, yum!

  11. Helen says:

    Kate, you can add Cal to the guest list. I made California Benedict for Easter Sunday brunch today, and it was great. The sauce worked perfectly with avocado and a little spinach. I wonder how much fat and cholesterol is saved with your sauce? What a great work around for this much-loved dish. Thanks for your inventiveness!

  12. Amy Cook says:

    I haven’t tried this recipe but was in the mood for a hearty breakfast this Sunday morning and so made some roasted potatoes with dill and parsley…but really wanted something saucy to go with. My five minute solution was vegenaise with dill, salt and pepper, and a bunch of lemon juice and a little bit of the olive oil with herbs that I had put on the potatoes..it was good! I sometimes really feel the need for protein and so will have some egg, which I did this morn so that mixed with the sauce might have made it more hollandaise like but even without the egg it was a good quick sub for any kind of white creamy sauce without dairy or egg!

  13. midwestvaygun says:

    this looks lovely! can’t wait to eat it for dinner 🙂

  14. Bett says:

    Looks lovely, and I will be trying it, but would urge anyone not to use so much soy sauce without being aware of the sodium content.

    1. Kate B says:

      Most of the soy sauce listed in the ingredients doesn’t actually end up in the food. It’s a marinade for the tofu, so a lot of it gets wasted down the drain. I would also like to draw your attention to this article from Scientific American: http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=its-time-to-end-the-war-on-salt

  15. Great recipe!! Thanks! I added some lemon zest and smoked paprika and it added a nice kick

  16. Una says:

    Great recipe. I used quinoa flour and quinoa milk. Was very good. Am looking forward to using it over some asparagus.

  17. Matthew says:

    Thanks for giving me a memorable Christmas morning!

  18. rushah19 says:

    I really like this recipe. I love hollandaise sauce and it tastes great with hash browns. But so far, I have always had the one with eggs – I am a vegetarian and prefer not to have eggs in my diet. This is a recipe I am definitely going to try soon. I will let you know how it turned out. Thank you 🙂

  19. Astrid says:

    I love this recipe, so thank you! I never thought I could replace eggs benedict as vegan, but I stand corrected. I too love involved cooking.. but personally I find this pretty easy ! Lovely recipe.

  20. Paul says:

    As a vegan, I’m curious why one would try to replicate food that a vegan is philosophically opposed to?

    1. Kate B says:

      Because I’m opposed to cruelty to and subjugation of animals. None of this happens when you replicate foods –traditionally made resulting in these practices– with plant-based cooking. In addition, one of the tactics one can use to make vegan food more appealing to omnivores is to present them with foods that are familiar. One tends to be more comfortable trying new versions of foods they grew up with as opposed to eating a dish that is completely unfamiliar.

      Also, I just like to eat food that tastes good. I don’t care if there is a version of the dish that contains animal products so long as the one going in my face does not.

  21. missmiakate says:

    Great recipe! Especially how you creatively made the hollandaise sauce. Thanks for sharing!

  22. Bebe Butler says:

    just made this sauce to go over my asparagus and it is heavenly. thank you!

    1. Kate R says:

      Oh, I am totally trying this with the sauce I have left over tonight!

  23. Kate R says:

    Thank you so much for this amazing recipe! I just finished eating and it was perfect! My lady also thanks you. 🙂

  24. Jennifer says:

    This worked so well! I used it in my own version of a Benedict and I am putting it up on my website now 🙂
    Thank you!

  25. Christina says:

    Thank you for the recipe! My husband and I loved it! We went vegan last month and i have been trying to find as many recipes I can to replace the foods he loved and this was a hit.

  26. Megan says:

    My boyfriend and I made this the other morning. IT WAS AMAZING! I am in the midst of preparing it to have breakfast for dinner. Thank you for this wonderful recipe 🙂

  27. Samantha says:

    if youre looking for a recipe to make now this is it… the hollandaise sauce is AMAZING!

  28. Tara says:

    I’ve made this recipe not sure how many times but it’s amazing. Thanks !

Leave a comment